Events in Reykjavik

I am very excited to be visiting Iceland for the first time, and there are many places I would like to visit whilst in Iceland.

As I will only be there for four full days, I would like to try and experience as much as I am able too, especially as it is a study visit. I’m very intrigued to try some of the Icelandic cuisines too.

Me and my course mates have put together a fact sheet showing the information of the top events held during February and March. The fact sheet is called –> the-iceland-events.

Some of the events listed below, are my top few that I would love to go and see.

Harpa- Reykjavik Concert Hall and Conference Centre

Harpa- Reykjavik Concert Hall and Conference Centre.png

One word… Wow! The architecture is phenomenal and is a distinguised landmark with beautiful views. Harpa is also the most incredible MICE Centre in Northern Europe. If I get the opportunity to go here, the experience will be breathtaking and very valuable towards my Event degree.

There is The Iceland expo pavilion showing every day in February and March and runs every 30 minutes. It is a 360 degree film where the walls and ceiling form a visual unity.

I personally feel visiting this attraction, me and my course mates will really benefit from it.

 

The Blue Lagoon

df5d3f8c3a5370bbcdfebfe323324949

The Blue Lagoon is one of Iceland’s natural wonders. The water temperature is a minimum of 37 degrees celsius making it the perfect place to feel pampered and relax whilst taking in the breath taking views of the scenery.

The entry fee is 45.00 GBP, however on arrival every visitor is given a face mask for free.

Below are the opening hours for 2017, excluding holiday opening hours.

Season Opening hours
1 Jan – 25 May 8:00 – 22:00
26 May – 29 Jun 8:00 – 23:00
30 Jun – 20 Aug 8:00 – 00:00
21 Aug – 1 Oct 8:00 – 22:00
2 Oct – 31 Dec* 8:00 – 20:00

 

References:

Chai (2015) Harpa Reykjavik concert hall and conference centre. Available at: https://chaimingyang.wordpress.com/2015/06/28/harpa-reykjavik-concert-hall-and-conference-centre/ (Accessed: 25 February 2017).

Ltd, B.L. (no date) Blue lagoon iceland winter. Available at: https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=blue+lagoon+iceland+winter&biw=1366&bih=651&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwjk9537prDSAhVkCMAKHe8_CXIQ_AUIBygC&dpr=1#imgdii=efTRCUkhsMRQGM:&imgrc=PTaAuEIAxU07wM: (Accessed: 27 February 2017).

Blue lagoon opening hours | blue lagoon Iceland (2017) Available at: http://www.bluelagoon.com/plan-your-visit/opening-hours/ (Accessed: 27 February 2017

Leave a comment